1. Default Convoluted "how do I make this happen online" questioncloud

1. I'm not a programmical or web-developish person. I pretty much only know HTML/CSS, which doesn't really... do... anything.

2. I want to make a filterable archive of items -- not searchable, but filterable based on certain attributes assigned to each listed item (e.g., an archive of tropical fruit filterable by color, size, and provenance, wherein a user may tell the page to display all small green tropical fruits hailing from South America, or perhaps all white-colored fruits, et cetera). How can I make this happen? I swear I tried Googling it, but all I got was a bunch of business-oriented, beginning-programmer stuff about search engines and stuff. Will I need to do SQLy stuff or something? Or, like... are there... simpler......... things? I DON'T KNOW.

3. Point me in a direction, I beg you.

3a. This is not really an intelligent conversation, I feel, but I take refuge behind the precedent of That Other Person Asking About Website-Makingish Stuff.

2. Default Re: Convoluted "how do I make this happen online" questioncloud

Depends if you want to do this server side or using just HTML and Javascript.

Serverside:

Just use a database or XML file with all the properties of the tropical fruits in them and then a simple script to retrieve only fruits with those properties.

HTML and Javascript:

Use some pre-made library such as: http://tablesorter.com, either use their demo and just build onto it or try to start new.

I think the table sorter library would be your best option :)

3. Default Re: Convoluted "how do I make this happen online" questioncloud