PDA

View Full Version : Funny Scam



Corn
2008-08-07, 09:16 PM
The Scam Website AND DO NOT ENTER YOUR INFORMATION ON THE WEBSITE!!!! (http://www.nx-xfer.co.nr/)

One of the best attempts at a scam I ever saw, even better than the youtube link in people's shops. The website is perfect, it looks EXACTLY like the official Nexon website. Except the link in properties is

http://nxxfer.freehostia.com/transfers.html

lol @ freehostia.

If you guys think it's a keylogger or something, then I have the "notice" here.


Dear Maplers,


As a testing phase we have decided to open up a "transfering" service starting August 2nd till August 9th. With this service you are able to transfer one character to a different server to balance out the populations. Please keep this in mind this is a testing phase and if you encounter any problems please open up a ticket in the help section. Log into your account here or on the login button then procede to the transfer page.



Thank you,

-MapleStory Staff-

Alloy
2008-08-07, 09:18 PM
Don't expect me to click on any link from a thread called "funny scam" D:

Blankout
2008-08-07, 09:21 PM
Don't expect me to click on any link from a thread called "funny scam" D:

Yeah...I'm a little reluctant.

Corn
2008-08-07, 09:21 PM
I don't :f7: Just read the notice and imagine it being on the official website, and all the links leading to real parts of the website.

summer
2008-08-07, 09:22 PM
lol... if you click any of the links OTHER than "LOG IN", it'll actually lead to the nexon website...

Tamekii
2008-08-07, 09:22 PM
I logged on with my acc..what will happen to it ?:'(

*Cries*

Funny btw o.o

Corn
2008-08-07, 09:23 PM
I logged on with my acc..what will happen to it ?:'(

*Cries*

Funny btw o.o

Um...if you're serious...you're kind of screwed O_o.

If you're not serious...it' s kind of hard to detect sarcasm :f7:

Tamekii
2008-08-07, 09:24 PM
Um...if you're serious...you're kind of screwed O_o.

If you're not serious...it' s kind of hard to detect sarcasm :f7:

I'm not Serious,look at the chinchilla in my Avatar and you will see o.o'

Blankout
2008-08-07, 09:24 PM
Ok I checked it. It's pretty weird... :f6:

chrome
2008-08-07, 09:24 PM
Heh...I woulda masked the link if I were to try to scam like that. There's a thread like this on the other forum I use too.

PrincePage
2008-08-08, 12:57 AM
I lol'd when it asked for your pin on the log in screen

Chameleonic
2008-08-08, 01:06 AM
My FM shop today got spammed with people saying similar things. The other was something to do with MapleFTP...there's so many lowlifes around.:f7:

Loose
2008-08-08, 01:31 AM
Sorta reminds me of something that happened to me during the 1st Maple Anniversary.

http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x190/loose24/scammity.gif

I believed it... for the first five seconds. I decided to check it website, it was super shitty. I still have that Kandayo.

ItzTaylor
2008-08-08, 01:38 AM
Wow definitely not clicking the link lol.

But the way you describe it, it sounds like a pro scammer.
Beats Tab Tab Space Enter scam :f6:

JezzaRules
2008-08-08, 02:08 AM
Clever, but not clever enough to fool me even if you didn't tell me... I can just tell by looking at the address....

Cheez
2008-08-08, 04:20 AM
I wonder if this is the site that was tinyurl'd and spammed in scania... though that one was missing the top bar, whether it was a loading error or something else. What's dumb is that this transfer service thing ALREADY EXISTS IN THE GAME, so it would take someone VERY stupid to fall for this.

HayO
2008-08-08, 05:44 AM
I think you should delete the link there are allways people dumb anough. You could post like a name of the site instead of a direct link.

Luigi_Sky
2008-08-08, 09:08 AM
Clever but they are asking for the pin and that just blows away the scam.

devinmacd33
2008-08-09, 12:46 AM
I don't :f7: Just read the notice and imagine it being on the official website, and all the links leading to real parts of the website.

Yea, it looks exactly like nexon's site but the loggin button leads to the other link he posted, everything else leads to real nexon

Milelke
2008-08-09, 01:11 AM
The site adress gave it away as a scam, but the notice made it 70% sure, and the pin made it 100% scam.

The Notice was so fake, please, greedy nexon allowing us to switch servers at will?

Not in a million years. or a billion

Yoorah
2008-08-09, 10:33 AM
For the record, when you guys come across a similar site, use Firefox's reporting tool to flag the site as malicious.

Help > Report Web Forgery... (Firefox 3)