PDA

View Full Version : Warning: Fake Nexon emails.



Brandini
2008-07-27, 05:25 AM
I was recently checking my main email and I got this message:

Greetings,

An investigation of your Maple Story account has found strong evidence that your account is being sold, traded, or is being used to sell in-game currency. As you may or may not be aware, this conflicts with our Terms of Use under section 2.3.2.

The investigation will be continued by Nexon administration to determine the action to be taken against your account. If your account is found violating our Terms of Use, your account will be temporarliy disabled or banned. In order to keep this from occurring, you should verify that you are the original owner of the account as soon as possible.

To verify your identity please visit the following webpage:
http://passport.nexon.net/WZ.ASPX?PART=/Login

We obtain this information due to a variety of circumstances; some of which are:
I) User generated reports.
II) A post on an account selling/trading website.
III) Sudden Internet Protocol address changes.

Only Account Administration will be able to assist with account retrieval issues.
Thank you for your time and attention to this matter, and your continued interest in Maple Story.

Regaurds,

Account Administration Team
Nexon Corporation
PO Box 18979, Irvine,CA 92623


There are a few funny things I noticed here, Nexon has never contacted me with this email. I have not sold or let anyone borrow any of my accounts, and I do not have any Nexon accounts registered to this email. Not to mention the fact that the email starts with the term "Greetings" and they spelled Regards wrong.

Either a GM is trying to steal my account or a noob just utterly failed.

wobbufet
2008-07-27, 05:32 AM
Mind if I ask what e-mail adress it was from? :f6:

Brandini
2008-07-27, 05:36 AM
Mind if I ask what e-mail adress it was from? :f6:

I don't want to post it, but its a hotmail account.

wobbufet
2008-07-27, 05:44 AM
Obvious fake then....

Wani
2008-07-27, 05:52 AM
The link in the text is a real site, but if you click it, what URL does it take you to?

bored4ever86
2008-07-27, 05:56 AM
only way i see the person possibly using this to scam anyone is if they have a keylogger on your computer cause the link is to the actual nexon site so yeah nothing they can do but copy keystrokes... I'd report the email to nexon and let them verify it or stop its abuse

Brandini
2008-07-27, 05:57 AM
It takes me to the real site, that threw me off a bit too.

Edit: That address in the bottom of the email is for Blizzard, according to Google. And I did use that email for WoW. o.o

JezzaRules
2008-07-27, 06:31 AM
Obviously it's a fake, I totally doubt nexon would contact you to see if you are account trading, they'd just ban you straight away.

Mozilla
2008-07-27, 06:49 AM
The link is teh same one as when you want to login to nexon.net...
How could they get your information if they are using a real page instead of a fake look-a-like.

Roxas
2008-07-27, 06:53 AM
The link is teh same one as when you want to login to nexon.net...
How could they get your information if they are using a real page instead of a fake look-a-like.

Even if it is the real webpage, the email is still suspicious. If I were you, I'd pay no attention to that email.

Elu
2008-07-27, 07:27 AM
That's really weird. I'd contact Nexon about it if I were you. Doing that can't hurt. :P

Afrobean
2008-07-27, 08:57 AM
A possibility could be that the url posted is not the url that would be hyperlinked in the email.

For example, it could be:

To verify your identity please visit the following webpage:
http://passport.nexon.net/WZ.ASPX?PART=/Login (http://google.com)

Notice that although it says the url that is the normal Nexon login url, if clicked, it directs you to another site. When copy pasting the email, this potential hidden hyperlinking would be lost, which is why the url would appear as entirely correct when posted here.

Other than that, I'd say it's just an idiot playing games or something. Totally harmless, either way, so long as you're not retarded.

Spaz
2008-07-27, 09:09 AM
By the way, a lot of people don't know this, but it's possible and indeed pretty easy to forge the "from" field of an email, so even if you get an email from someone@nexon.net, it's still suspicious.

Alloy
2008-07-27, 09:19 AM
Maybe it was just a joke from someone you know :p

Brandini
2008-07-27, 05:14 PM
Maybe it was just a joke from someone you know :p

lol

Thats what I think after I had all day to think about it.

Cheesecake
2008-07-27, 05:36 PM
Regaurds,

Account Administration Team
Nexon Corporation
PO Box 18979, Irvine,CA 92623

lmao. the guy probably used spell check, and clicked the wrong word X3

Retalion
2008-07-28, 12:30 AM
Well, Ive gotten an email from nexon before and replied with the necessary info (I had won a prize in one of their events). I was a bit iffy at first, seeing as it asked for info and "GMs will never ask for your info" or something along those lines, but what got me to send it was the email address: It was from an @nexon.net email so I just believed its from Nexon. Needless to say, I havent had any difficulties with my account or security since then.

If it was from a hotmail account, then its pretty obvious its a fake. They'd use a professional email for something along these lines x_X

Afrobean
2008-07-28, 08:48 AM
Well, Ive gotten an email from nexon before and replied with the necessary info (I had won a prize in one of their events). I was a bit iffy at first, seeing as it asked for info and "GMs will never ask for your info" or something along those lines, but what got me to send it was the email address: It was from an @nexon.net email so I just believed its from Nexon. Needless to say, I havent had any difficulties with my account or security since then.

If it was from a hotmail account, then its pretty obvious its a fake. They'd use a professional email for something along these lines x_X
It's not impossible for someone to mask their return email address. Someone outside of Nexon could DEFINITELY send an email with the return address "MapleGM@Nexon.net" if they had the know-how.


lmao. the guy probably used spell check, and clicked the wrong word X3
No, definitely not. Wanna know why?

"regaurds" is not a word.

Kranzorbaken
2008-07-28, 09:33 AM
It's not impossible for someone to mask their return email address. Someone outside of Nexon could DEFINITELY send an email with the return address "MapleGM@Nexon.net" if they had the know-how.


No, definitely not. Wanna know why?

"regaurds" is not a word.

Haha wow it takes some kind of genius to misspell regards.
Especially when your trying to scam someone.

Corn
2008-07-28, 09:48 AM
Haha wow it takes some kind of genius to misspell regards.
Especially when your trying to scam someone.

Then again, knowing Nexon...

Kranzorbaken
2008-07-28, 09:59 AM
[QUOTE=ClawofBeta;28202]Then again, knowing Nexon...[/QUOT

You sir, are a genius:glitter:
But there not that dumb....
are they?!:eek:

Hazzy
2008-07-28, 09:59 AM
Kranzorbaken, you'd be surprised.

Corn
2008-07-28, 10:00 AM
[QUOTE=ClawofBeta;28202]Then again, knowing Nexon...[/QUOT

You sir, are a genius:glitter:
But there not that dumb....
are they?!:eek:

Considering they spelled "want" wrong... (you have to log in to view it).

http://bugreport.nexon.net/default.aspx